Work of Art

by Deborah Atherton

I know not everyone who reads this blog has had the opportunity to see Work of Art, the new Bravo reality TV show, yet – it’s not in every country our readership is in, and I’m not sure how available it is on the Web.  But if you get a chance, take a look .  The premise is much like that of Project Runway – lock a bunch of artists up together, give them a number of short-term challenges, and eliminate one (or two) a week until you are down to what is in theory the crème de la crème.  It’s certainly not an optimal way to produce art or evaluate artists, but I find myself looking forward to it and watching it with real enthusiasm.

Why? Well, first and foremost, it’s just fun to watch artists at work.  You will often find me in the corner of a painter’s studio, anyway, watching him or her lay on the oils, or perhaps peering over a portraitist’s shoulder while they are capturing their subject.  But this is kind of like getting three scoops of ice cream when you’ve only ordered a cup–you get to watch a whole room full of artists go to it.   And unlike other reality show contestants, who tend to complain about what they DON’T have to work with (“What? no black truffles? How can I possibly complete my entree?” or “They’ve run out of ivory beads? Will I have to use. . .plastic?) these artists, presented with an enormous studio full of materials, are like kids in a candy store, running from the clay to the video cameras and bouncing all the way.  And they seem almost as excited about having a roof over their heads and three meals a day as they are about the free materials.

Being artists, they seem semi-oblivious to their surroundings, which is also a refreshing change on a reality show.  The competitive edge and the jockeying for the camera’s attention is there, oh yes, but they seem to spend a lot of time posing for each other, critiquing each other, and trying to get the equipment to work right together.  Even amidst the silliness of this weeks challenge to create “shocking” art the joy in the actual creating seemed pretty evident.

Of course, it is a reality show, so editing is king, and who knows what the reality is or was–but as I say, fun to watch and get a glimpse of artists and their works in progress.  And you can’t always be creating new work of your own – sometimes it is nice to take a break and watch other people doing it!

4 Responses to Work of Art

  1. Michelle says:

    Hi Deborah! Thanks for the comment on my post on http://www.theoccultsection.com. I’m a firm believer in the idea that you get what you need from the universe, so I was pleased to see the link to your site. Great stuff, and I look forward to reading more!

  2. deborahatherton says:

    Thanks, Michelle, I am a big fan of your blog. Love the humor and the wide reach of what you all talk about. Talk about creativity! I, too, think you get what you need from the universe – but the trick is knowing how to ask.

  3. AUTHENTIC AWAKENING says:

    I don’t get Bravo but this show sounds wonderful and inspirational. I’m going to have to see if I can find episodes online. I love watching videos on YouTube for the same reason you describe. I wonder if they talk about their thought process about creating and how their artwork becomes.

    • deborahatherton says:

      Thanks for your comment. You can find episodes at bravotv.com – they do talk a lot about their process, and it is always interesting to hear what people have to say about how they make their art.

Leave a Reply

